What Makes A Young Champion? 2010 (this coming August 7-8)

August 1, 2010

A few months ago, I received an email from the organizers of “What Makes a Young Champion? 2010”, inviting me to talk and participate in their forum. The event will be held in Singapore this coming weekend (August 7-8).

One of main values of Rags2Riches is “spreading positive influence”. We try to share the story of Rags2Riches whenever we can so I happily agreed to be part of this forum (it would also be held during a weekend, so my work will not be compromised). However, when I visited the website, hoping to look for information I could integrate to my presentation, I realized that this forum, and the amazing people that will be in it, will share their stories to us and inspire us as well.

I was awed when I read through the profiles of the young champions who will be there. I would like to share them with you. (Excerpts taken from the What Makes A Young Champion website, some comments in italics)

Anthony Chen is a 26 year old multi-awarded filmmaker from Singapore.

Bambang Reguna (aka Bams) is a 27 year old Rock Star who campaigns against drugs.

Caroline Bird is a 25 year old writer from the UK who has already published several works of poetry and plays.

Cindy Chng is a 22 year old environmentalist from Singapore who founded her own company, Eco-Travel.

Divya Dhar is already a doctor at 24 years old. She is awarded as the 2010 Young New Zealander of the Year. She has also set up a foundation that works with young people to work towards ending poverty.

Johnny Strange is the youngest person to reach the Seven Summits on the seven continents. He did this all before he was even 18.

Khalida Brohi is a 22 year old social activist from Pakistan who advocates against honor killing and advocates for gender equality.(Khalida is also a dear friend I connected with during our YouthActionNet Fellowship last November 2008. I’m very excited to see her again. She is such a determined and amazing young woman who is currently a fellow of “Unreasonable Institute”)

Kwok Min Yi is an 18 year old ballerina from Singapore who is the first Singaporean to qualify for the prestigious Genee International Ballet Competition last 2009.

Leanna Archer is a 14 (!) year old entrepreneur who founded her own company that produces all-natural hair products. She established this when she was 9 (what was I doing when I was 9?). Her company is very successful and has been internationally recognized.

Lee Huei Min is a 27 year old violinist from Singapore. She has been given several awards and distinctions and she also harnesses her talents to raise funds for charitable causes.

Louis Barnett is an 18 year old Chocolatier. He dropped out of school because of learning difficulties but was able to find his space in being a chocolatier, and as one of the youngest and most successful entrepreneurs in his field.

Yip Pin Xiu is a 17 year old swimmer who won the gold medal at the 2008 Beijing Summer Paralympics.

These young people are indeed AMAZING! They prove that age and the lack of experience are not hindrances to success or to making a difference.

I’m very excited to meet all of them. =)

I can’t wait to have something like this conference in the Philippines. I’m sure we have our share of amazing young people who could serve as inspirations to the world! =)

Leave a comment